Technology

How to delete Google history and data

I definitely wouldn’t be lying if I said Google knows us better than our closest friends and family. For those who don’t know, the search giant stores all of the internet history that goes through any of its products or services. And as you can imagine, that’s a lot of information, given that Google is pretty much everywhere.

Fortunately, they are also very transparent about their data and allow the user to have access to everything they own. By accessing your data, you can delete it if you prefer. In this article, we’ll show you exactly how it’s done.

Should we delete Google history and search data?

We understand that a business that knows a lot about us can be worrying. Presumably some of you would like to delete your Google history for privacy reasons. Taking a look at my history, I see that they have all of my browsing, location, apps, YouTube, and device information, among others.

But while clearing Google history can help you sleep better at night, it will also worsen your online experience during waking hours. This is because Google uses all of this data to make things more convenient for each of us.

Did you get a traffic notification from Google Now before you went to work? Or have you seen your plane ticket information retrieved from an email? Does Google Maps know where you work and where you live, which makes it easier to navigate? All of this can go away. Even simple things, like research recommendations, will be less precise.

And that’s only the tip of the iceberg. All Google services work together to make using them as easy and convenient as possible. But the truth is, they’re probably also using our data for things we don’t really like. So it’s up to you to decide if you want to sacrifice convenience for privacy.

How to consult our Google data

Taking a look at everything Google knows about us is very simple. All you need to do is go to the Google history page. If you are signed in to your Google account, all of your information will be presented to you.

There are several sections on this page:

Location history on the web and in YouTube History apps

Look at them with some attention and you will see that there are some really interesting things. I love seeing my location history, for example. Google knows where you are from the start. It’s interesting to see the cards with all their locations … but it’s also a little weird and scary.

How to turn off your Google history

You may not want to permanently delete your history. You just want it to be inactive for a while and then reactivate it to continue enjoying all that Google has to offer. If so, you can just turn it off.

Access your Google history page in any browser. Click on the section of data you want to disable. (for example, history of positions). There you can choose to turn off your location history completely, but you can go to the automatic deletion section to choose how and when to delete your location history. You can choose to let Google save your data only for 3, 18 or 36 months.

How to delete Google history

Now if you are sure what you are doing and really want it to end, check out the steps to remove all your data from Google.

Go to your Google history page in any browser. Click on the section of data you want to disable. (for example, history of positions). Choose the option: Manage activities Here you will find all the information that may or may not be useful. You can delete information that you think shouldn’t be there. Help us grow, visit our Facebook page and leave your taste, to get access to all the information first hand. And if you liked the article, don’t forget to share it with your friends. Also follow us on Google News, select us among your favorites by clicking on the star.

Founder of Noticias e Tecnologia, and this is his second online project, after several years connected to a portal focused on the Android system, of which he was also one of its founders.

IT professional and passionate about new technologies, mechanical sports and mountain biking.

Close